Founders & Early Board Members

In 1989, a group of concerned activists got together to create a new type of grantmaking for our region. Using their own personal resources, they established Three Rivers Community Fund (now Foundation) as an alternative to more traditional avenues of support, such as United Way and larger foundations that frequently could not fund grassroots efforts. This visionary group included:

Founders (signed on 1989/1990):

  • Pauline Cooper
  • Allen Goodman
  • Penny Lytle
  • Irene McLaughlin
  • Jan Neffke
  • Dolores Patrick
  • Mark Peterson
  • Suzanne Polen
  • Ken Regal
  • Jeff Richardson
  • Judy Ruszkowski
  • Lucy Spruill
  • Cynthia Vanda (founding President)
  • Bill Wekselman
  • Arthur Young

Early Board Members (signed on 1991/1992):

  • Nancy Bernstein (past President)
  • Felecia Bute
  • Bonnie DiCarlo
  • Frances “Penna” Drew
  • Molly Rush
  • Nancy Washington